Cached article

https://margotkinberg.wordpress.com/2017/03/19/pressure-pushing-down-on-me/

In the US, one of the last major hurdles for Ph.D. candidates is defending their dissertations. I understand it’s the same in many other places, too. If you have a Ph.D. yourself, or you’ve sat in on one of these events, then you know it’s a very intense experience. As this is posted, it’s my ‘dissertation anniversary,’ which has me thinking about the process. Candidates spend weeks or even months preparing their presentations of their material, as well as responses to possible questions they may get from members of their dissertation committees (and, at times, the audience). And, of course, those questions may be about any aspect of the dissertation, so the candidate needs to be thoroughly familiar with every bit of the material. It’s nerve-wracking, to say the least.
The thing about defending a dissertation is that it’s a bit difficult to describe, since it doesn’t have a lot of obvious parallels in other fields. But a look at crime fiction can help give a few insights.
Getting ready to defend a dissertation is a little like rehearsing for a performance. Just as actors must know their lines and musicians must know their pieces, Ph.D. candidates have to have their presentations well-prepared. We see the intensity of rehearsal in a lot of crime fiction. For instance, Christine Poulson’s Stage Fright sees her protagonist, Cassandra James, asked to adapt a Victorian novel, East Lynne, for a stage production. She’s Head of the English Department at St. Etheldreda’s College, Cambridge, and her specialty is Victorian literature. So, she’s the right choice for the job. All starts out well enough, and rehearsals begin. But then, Melissa Meadows, who is to take a leading role in the play, tells James that someone is stalking her. Then, she goes missing. This throws rehearsals into chaos, and, when she doesn’t return, leads to the investigation of a possible murder.
Fans of Ngaio Marsh, Simon Brett, and Deborah Nicholson, among others, will know that their novels also take the reader ‘backstage.’ In such novels, we see how many times material has to be prepared and how important timing is. We also see the suspense, nerves and tension that come out under so much pressure. It’s the same when one’s preparing to defend a dissertation.
Defending a dissertation isn’t really entertainment, though. Candidates need to be prepared to address challenges to everything about their work. They need to examine each aspect of their dissertations, from the topic, to the data collection, to the data analysis, and more. In that sense, preparing to defend a dissertation is a little like preparing for a trial. A good attorney prepares thoroughly for each trial. That includes working with witnesses and, possibly, the defendant. It also includes looking carefully at each aspect of the case, and addressing possible weaknesses. Attorneys know that any serious weaknesses in a case will be exploited by the other side. So, they do everything possible to prevent that. Admittedly, the Ph.D. candidate doesn’t risk prison. But it’s still quite a high-stakes process.
We see that sort of preparation in work by, for instance Scott Turow, John Grisham, Robert Rotenberg, and Paul Levine. The writing team of ‘Perri O’Shaughnessy’ also explore this sort of pre-trial work in their Nina Reilly novels.
Presenting one’s material before the dissertation committee, and fielding questions, isn’t exactly like a trial. The role of the dissertation committee is to support the candidate. After all, if the candidate doesn’t do well, this reflects on the committee, too – in particular on the candidate’s advisor/tutor, who generally chairs the committee.
In that way, defending a dissertation is a bit like a major sports competition. On the one hand, the player has to work very hard, and coaches can be difficult to satisfy. The Olympic Games, the World Series, the World Cup, and other such contests, all require discipline and focus. And coaches and trainers push and challenge players to get the most from them. At the same time, their role is to be allies and support systems.
Alison Gordon’s crime novels give readers a good look at what it’s like to play for a Major League baseball team. Readers see how important the actual games can be, and what the roles of coaches and trainers are. John Daniell’s The Fixer offers some similar insight into the world of rugby. And there’s Harlan Coben’s Myron Bolitar series, which takes the perspective of a sports agent. In all of these novels and series, we see how pivotal a game or series of games can be. That stress and tension is quite similar to what it’s like to defend a dissertation.
 
 
 
*NOTE: The title of this post is a line from Queen and David Bowie’s Under Pressure.
Share this:
Margot: It was an interesting post. As I read I wondered if you would draw parallels with the legal profession. I think the comparison is more apt at the appellate level. There are no witnesses. There is a paper record of the trial evidence and arguments of the Crown and defence. As counsel you present an oral argument to a panel of judges who can ask you anything they consider relevant. Even with preparation it can be intimidating.
As lawyers are used to asking probing questions have any Ph.D. candidates ever asked lawyers to question them to help prepare for their defence?
I haven’t gone through a dissertation, but a friend is now working on that in archaeology. I suspect it’s like studying for a law degree or preparing for a trial. When I worked at a nonprofit law office, I saw some people studying for law school exams: Yikes! And I saw lawyers preparing for cases. Most kept their cool, but not always.
Since I had to type the legal briefs, I saw so many rewrites it was wild. But that was pre-Word documents, so every page had to be retyped in totality if there was a mistake. At least we had electric typewriters. I can’t imagine days before that, but then I got through college with a manual typewriter.
I feel like a dinosaur.
Glad that it’s a dissertation anniversary, an accomplishment not to be repeated.
Enter your comment here...
Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:
Email (required) (Address never made public)
Name (required)
You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. (  Log Out  /  Change  )
You are commenting using your Twitter account. (  Log Out  /  Change  )
You are commenting using your Facebook account. (  Log Out  /  Change  )
You are commenting using your Google+ account. (  Log Out  /  Change  )
Welcome!
Thanks for checking out my site! My name's Margot Kinberg. I write crime fiction, and I love to talk about it, so please share your thoughts!
Contact Me
margotkinberg(at)gmail(dot)com
A Word About Reviews
Just so you know... I don't do book reviews, author interviews, or other author promotion. There are others much better qualified to do that than I am.
Join 5,543 other followers
Search the Writer’s Knowledge Base
Please visit these terrific blogs
Email check failed, please try again
Sorry, your blog cannot share posts by email.
%d bloggers like this:

Note: The text above was captured when it was originally read into the WKB. It does not honor the layout of the original article nor does it include images or links. However, it's great for when the original article no longer exists.